Breakeven Point Analysis: A Small Business Guide

how to calculate bep

It is also helpful to note that the sales price per unit minus variable cost per unit is the contribution margin per unit. For example, if a book’s selling price is $100 and its variable costs are $5 to make the book, $95 is the contribution margin per unit https://www.kelleysbookkeeping.com/what-is-overhead-cost-and-how-to-calculate-it/ and contributes to offsetting the fixed costs. On a more in-depth level, break even point is the revenue level or per-unit sales level at which profit or loss is zero, but the fixed costs and variable costs are covered by the sales revenue generated.

Break-even analysis

Assume an investor pays a $4 premium for a Meta (formerly Facebook) put option with a $180 strike price. That allows the put buyer to sell 100 shares of Meta stock (META) at $180 per share until the option’s expiration date. If the stock is trading above that price, then the benefit of the option has not exceeded its cost. Assume that an investor pays a $5 premium for an Apple stock (AAPL) call option with a $170 strike price. This means that the investor has the right to buy 100 shares of Apple at $170 per share at any time before the options expire. The breakeven point for the call option is the $170 strike price plus the $5 call premium, or $175.

Interpretation of Break-Even Analysis

Start with a free account to explore 20+ always-free courses and hundreds of finance templates and cheat sheets. He has a CPA license in the Philippines and a BS in Accountancy graduate at Silliman University. The best way to understand the BEP is to illustrate it using the BEP chart. This chart illustrates the relationships of profit, revenue, costs, and the BEP.

how to calculate bep

Benefits of a Breakeven Analysis

The company can also assess whether proposed new products should be added to its product line or if unprofitable existing products should be discontinued. Take the fixed costs and divide by the difference between the selling price and cost per unit ($16.58), and that will tell you how many units have to be sold to break even. The total variable costs will therefore be https://www.kelleysbookkeeping.com/ equal to the variable cost per unit of $10.00 multiplied by the number of units sold. Because breakeven analysis is often computed on a product line basis, adding new products or eliminating unprofitable product lines will change your company’s overall breakeven point. The fixed overhead allocated to each product will be different after a change in product offerings.

And variable costs will be added for new products or eliminated when a product is cut. This line increases due to variable costs because variable costs increase at the same rate as sales. In terms of its cost structure, the company has fixed costs (i.e., constant regardless of production volume) that amounts to $50k per year. Recall, fixed costs are independent of the sales volume for the given period, and include costs such as the monthly rent, the base employee salaries, and insurance.

Assumptions for examples of break-even analysis calculations are shown in the table below for Solidtude’s Product A. We’ll now move to a modeling exercise, which you can access by filling out the form below. Or, if using Excel, the break-even point can be calculated using the “Goal Seek” function. Businesses share the similar core objective of eventually becoming profitable in order to continue operating. Otherwise, the business will need to wind-down since the current business model is not sustainable.

Using Goal Seek in Excel, an analyst can backsolve how many units need to be sold, at what price, and at what cost to break even. Breakeven analysis and its underlying contribution margin formula help businesses make decisions to improve performance. Another great use for the breakeven point is to compute the margin of safety. The margin of safety is the difference between actual and breakeven sales. It serves as “cushion” so that you’ll know if current sales level is far or near breakeven sales. For instance, if actual sales is $20,000 and breakeven sales is $8,000, our margin of safety is $12,000.

  1. By understanding the required output to break even, a company can set revenue targets accordingly, as well as adjust its business strategy such as the pricing of its products/services and how it chooses to allocate its capital.
  2. It might be a good idea to come back to this break-even calculator after you actually start doing business.
  3. For instance, if actual sales is $20,000 and breakeven sales is $8,000, our margin of safety is $12,000.
  4. The contribution margin ratio is the contribution margin per unit divided by the sale price.

In a small business perspective, you can use BEP in units to know the minimum number of units that you need to produce and sell to reach breakeven. That also means that unit sales below 500 will always be at a loss and unit sales above 500 will always be at a profit. Consider the following example in which an investor pays a $10 premium for a stock call option, and the strike price is $100. The breakeven point would equal the $10 premium plus the $100 strike price, or $110. On the other hand, if this were applied to a put option, the breakeven point would be calculated as the $100 strike price minus the $10 premium paid, amounting to $90.

To understand break-even analysis, divide fixed costs by the contribution margin ratio (sales per unit minus variable costs per unit sold). For business decision-making, it’s helpful to apply break-even analysis check the status of your refund to each product under consideration and each product currently sold. The break-even formula determines the sales level (in units or sales revenue) required to cover costs before making a profit.

If non-cash expenses aren’t included in the calculation, a business can also compute its cash break even point. To calculate the break-even point in sales dollars, divide the total fixed costs by the contribution margin ratio. The contribution margin ratio is the contribution margin per unit divided by the sale price. A company or its business owner can calculate its total revenue, fixed costs, and variable costs through financial analysis. Then it can apply a break-even formula to determine at which point its net profit is zero, either as an amount of revenue or the number of units sold.

Also, remember that this analysis doesn’t take into consideration the present vs. future value of your funds. See the time value of money calculator for more information about this topic. An unprofitable business eventually runs out of cash on hand, and its operations can no longer be sustained (e.g., compensating employees, purchasing inventory, paying office rent on time). Over 1.8 million professionals use CFI to learn accounting, financial analysis, modeling and more.

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